About La Mesa, California

La Mesa is situated in the state of California’s San Diego County. According to the 2000 census, the estimated population of La Mesa was more than 54,000. La Mesa was established in 1869 and on February 16, 1912, it formally became a city. Bougainvillea is the city’s official flower. In Spanish, the name of the city stands for “the table”, or “the plateau”, which has something to do with its geography. The city once belonged to Mission San Diego de Alcalá, a larger territory which was situated by Spanish Missionaries. La Mesa City was established under California State’s general laws on February 16, 1912. Independently, La Mesa is without any City charter; however it operates under California State’s laws in every way included in a city ordinance. La Mesa’s city council includes five members who are generally elected. Art Madrid is the present mayor of La Mesa. La Mesa, which is represented by Dennis Hollingsworth, is situated in the 36th Senate District, and, represented by Joel Anderson, is situated in the 77th Assembly District. Nationally, the city is situated in the 52nd congressional district of the state of California, which is represented by Duncan D. Hunter. La Mesa’s First Annual Flag Day Parade, having Councilwoman Ruth Sterling’s commitment and vision, was inaugurated on July 14, 1997. The largest annual event of the city is the Oktoberfest, to which more than 200,000 people attend the three-night event. Other events held annually in the city are the Antique Street Fair and Christmas in the Village.

News from La Mesa