About Dover, Delaware

The city of Dover is the county seat of Kent County and the capital of the state of Delaware. It is located close to the St. Jones River and the second largest city within the state. Dover is the home of Caesar Rodney, an American lawyer and politician, a famous leader of Delaware at the time of the American Revolution. Dover was first settled as a court town for Kent County in 1683 and was officially arranged as a city in 1717. The capital of the state of Delaware was moved to Dover in 1777 from its original location in New Castle. The name of the city was named in honor to Dover, England by William Penn. The Green, the central square of the city, was once the main place for numerous rallies and other nationalistic activities in the heart of Dover. It is also the location of two historical buildings in the city; the Kent County Courthouse and the Delaware Supreme Court. The Schwartz Center for the Arts, formerly known as the Dover Opera House, and the Sewell C. Biggs Museum of American Art are among the historical landmarks in the historic district of the city. The educational institutions in the city are Delaware State University, Wesley College, Cesar Rodney High School, Dover High School, and Polytechnic High School. The city of Dover is also home to several notable residents like Teri Polo, actress; Ian Snell, pitcher of Seattle Mariners; Madison Brengle, tennis player; Mike Meade, NFL player; Robert Crumb, an underground artist; and Rob Tornoe, an award-winning cartoonist.

News from Dover