About Niagara Falls, New York

The city of Niagara is one of the most visited cities in the United States today which is located across the Niagara River, where the famous Niagara Falls is situated and one of the main attractions in the Western New York region. Niagara is part of the Niagara County in the state of New York. Niagara has a very colorful and exciting history. According to historians, it is believed that the early inhabitants of the place and the ancestors of the “Iroguoian” lived about 1,500 years ago until the major turning point in their history as they became part of the formation of the “Great League of Peace”. The French were the first European explorers to have discovered to the beauty of the Niagara region. Two crude log forts were built at the mouth of Niagara River in 1679 and 1687, respectively, but both of these were abandoned later. However, the French came back in 1726 to take siege in the region and placed another fort but this time it was for permanence, it is now the present-day Fort Niagara. In March 17, 1892, the city was incorporated due to the bill signed by New York State Governor Roswell P. Flower. Today, it is estimated that roughly 10 million tourists are visiting the city every year just to see the enchanting Niagara Falls and the other interesting places featured in the Niagara Falls State Park such as the Cave of the Winds, Niagara Discovery Center, and the Maid of the Mist.

News from Niagara Falls

Niagara Falls Facts

  • Population Total: 50,193
  • Square Miles: 14.1
  • Area Code: 716
  • Elevation: 614
  • Postal Codes: 14301-14305
  • Timezone: North American Eastern