About Bismarck, North Dakota

The city of Bismarck is conveniently located on the east bank of the Missouri river. It is the county seat of Burleigh County and the capital of the state of North Dakota. Coincidentally, it is called as the ‘Economic Center’ of the south-central region of the state. Following the city of Fargo, it is the second most populated city in the state. Historically, it was believed that the early settlers of the area were the Mandan people. For this, the city was initially named as Missouri Crossing. The foundation of the city was held in 1872. The city was then renamed as Edwinton, after Edwin Ferry Johnson, the engineer-in-chief for the Northern Pacific Railway. It was in 1873, when the city’s name was officially changed to Bismarck, in honor of Otto von Bismarck, the German Chancellor during that time. Bismarck became the capital of the state of North Dakota in 1889. The North Dakota State Capitol is a 19 story tower and is located in the central part of the city. It is the tallest building in the state. The city’s recreational sources include the Sertoma Park, Super Slide Amusement Park, and Dakota Zoo. There are five golf courses within the city limits of Bismarck. Bismarck is also home to some notable residents including John Burke, the 24th Treasurer of the United States and 10th governor of North Dakota; Thomas S. Kleppe, 41st U.S. Secretary of the Interior and former Bismarck mayor; Neil Churchill, Bismarck mayor; Kent Conrad, senator; Ed Schafer, 29th U.S. Secretary of Agriculture and 30th governor of North Dakota; Clay Jenkinson, actor, columnist, and author; Jack Dunham, television producer and animator; and John Andrew Rea, newspaper editor.

News from Bismarck

Bismarck Facts

  • Population Total: 61,272
  • Square Miles: 26.9
  • Area Code: 701
  • Elevation: 1686
  • Postal Codes: 58501-58507
  • Timezone: Central
  • Website: