About Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Sioux Falls City is considered as the biggest city in the state of South Dakota. Sioux Falls City extends into Lincoln County to the Southern part and is known as the country seat of Minnehaha County. It is also known as one of the fastest growing cities in the United States because of its competitive physical composition. A lot of parks and greenways are spread throughout the Sioux Falls that gives recreational activities to the residents of the city. They use the lane for jogging, walking and biking. Falls Park is one of the popular locations in the city of Sioux Falls. Its name is originated from the City’s waterfalls that are located on the Big Sioux River. Other famous parks are the Sherman Park, Terrace Park, Yankton Trail Park and the McKennan Park. Sioux Falls City is governed by a mayor-council form of government that is elected every four years. The council is composed of five members that represent specific sections of the city. Sioux Falls City is known as the cultural city of South Dakota because it consists of popular Cathedrals, Universities and Museums. The City of Sioux Falls is also known for its numerous universities and schools, like the National American University, Augustana College, Kilian Community College, Southeast Technical Institute, University of South Dakota's Sanford School of Medicine, Globe University/Minnesota School of Business, and the Colorado Technical University. Some of Sioux Falls’ famous residents include Chris Browne (An American comic strip artist), George Botsford (A Composer and a pianist), William Dougherty (Politician in South Dakota) and Michael Fossum(An Astronaut).

News from Sioux Falls

Sioux Falls Facts

  • Population Total: 153,888
  • Square Miles: 67.2
  • Area Code: 605
  • Elevation: 1470
  • Postal Codes: 57100-57199
  • Timezone: North American Central
  • Website: